CONNECTICUT COLLEGE



Delta of Connecticut PHI BETA KAPPA

Initiation Ceremony | Sunday, May 9, 2021

Delta of Connecticut, Phi Beta Kappa Connecticut College

Initiation Ceremony



May 9, 2021 5:30 p.m.

The Ceremony

INTRODUCTION AND WELCOME

Lawrence A. Vogel Chapter President and Professor of Philosophy

PRESENTATION OF THE INITIATES

AND OF THE PHI BETA KAPPA SOCIETY

Christopher N.B. Hammond, Chair of the Membership Committee, Associate Professor of Mathematics, and Associate Dean of the College for Curriculum

> Rae Gaubinger, Chapter Historian and Assistant Professor of English

INDUCTION

STATEMENT BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE COLLEGE

HISTORY OF THE WINTHROP SCHOLAR AWARD

Lawrence A. Vogel

Katherine Bergeron

THE PHI BETA KAPPA POET

Kate Rushin Distinguished Visiting Poet in Residence 2021-2022, Department of English

Introduced by Charles O. Hartman, Chapter Member, Lucy Marsh Haskell '19 Endowed Professor of English and Poet in Residence

THE PHI BETA KAPPA SCHOLARSHIPS

Joseph D. Alchermes, Chapter Vice President and Chair of the Scholarship Committee, Director of the Architectural Studies Program, and Associate Professor of Art History

CHARGE TO THE NEW MEMBERS

Lawrence A. Vogel

Class of 2021

Winthrop Scholars

Ahmed AboHamad Majors: Biological Studies & Philosophy

Elizabeth Berry Majors: English & Italian Studies

Genevieve Beveridge Duff Majors: Educational Studies & Psychology

Craig Haber Majors: Computer Science & Psychology

Jiayi Jin Major: Economics Minor: Mathematics **Ruby Helene Johnson** Major: Human Development

Benjamin James Lewis Major: Government Minors: Applied Statistics & Finance

Stephanie Caroline Martinez Major: Government Minor: History

Devin Laurence Dittes McNamara Major: Psychology

Ann Foster Monk Majors: Global Islamic Studies & International Relations Minor: Arabic Studies Jenna Grace Ortoleva Major: Biological Sciences

Clare D'Adamo Peyton Major: Psychology Minor: Theater

Elizabeth Vinson Major: English Minor: History

Phi Beta Kappa

Samantha Frieda Barth Majors: Economics & Sociology

Theresa Jane Beardell Major: Environmental Studies

Lara Johnson Cazemajou Majors: American Studies & Government Minor: Africana Studies

Joshua Coleman Majors: Environmental Studies & History

Emily Nowack Cowan Major: Music and Technology Minor: Computer Science

Maggie DiPalo Major: Psychology Minor: Dance Andrew Flynn Majors: Government & History

Wyntre Rose Fries Major: Computer Science

Fiona R. Hull Majors: Global Islamic Studies & History Minor: Arabic Studies

Amanda Jeanette LaMacchia Major: Neuroscience Minor: Computer Science

Stephanie Lewis Major: Behavioral Neuroscience Minors: Philosophy & Psychology Maria MacNeill Major: English Minors: Italian Studies & Linguistics

Stephanie Alana Melnyk Majors: English & Government

Eve Terry O'Brien Major: Art History Minor: Religious Studies

Claire Elizabeth Pellegrini Major: Botany Minor: Art

Cameron Nicole Peyko Major: Psychology Minors: Economics & Finance

Nicole Poole Major: Biological Sciences

Continued >

Phi Beta Kappa Continued

Abhijeet Pradhan Major: Computer Science Minor: Mathematics

Devon Rancourt Majors: History & Slavic Studies

Jack Rider-McGovern Major: Slavic Studies Minor: Arabic Studies

Jordan Elizabeth Rottger Majors: Film Studies & Slavic Studies Aidan Catherine Sachs Majors: Educational Studies & Human Development Minor: Psychology

Mara Senecal-Albrecht Major: Dance Minor: Africana Studies

Ashley Steinkrauss Majors: Behavioral Neuroscience & Educational Studies Minor: Applied Statistics **Chelsea Marie Vickers**

Major: Computer Science Minor: Psychology

Zoë Walker Majors: Art & Art History

Yuening Wang Majors: Economics & Psychology

The 2021 Phi Beta Kappa Poet

Kate Rushin is the author of *The Black Back-Ups* and "The Bridge Poem," which was selected for inclusion in *African American Poetry:* 250 Years of Struggle and Song and in *Lift Every Voice*, the online companion, both published by The Library of America.

She received a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Brown University and a Bachelor of Arts in Theater and Communications from Oberlin College. She has served as Visiting Writer and Director of the Center for African American Studies at Wesleyan University.

Kate Rushin is currently teaching poetry at Connecticut College and has been appointed Distinguished Visiting Poet in Residence in the Department of English for the 2021-2022 academic year.

She performs her poetry with the master bassist, Professor Nat Reeves, and his quartet.

The Delta of Connecticut, Connecticut College 2021 Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship Recipients

Ahmed AboHamad,

Connecticut College Class of 2021 Seeking the Ph.D. in Philosophy The University of Connecticut Storrs, Connecticut

Viangely Asencio,

Connecticut College Class of 2020 Seeking the Ph.D. in Sociology The University of California, Davis Davis, California

Pariya Prama,

Connecticut College Class of 2021 Seeking the M.S. in Nursing The School of Nursing, Yale University Orange, Connecticut

Shaniqua Shaw,

Connecticut College Class of 2018 Seeking the J.D. Columbia Law School, Columbia University New York City, New York

Yoldas Yildiz,

Connecticut College Class of 2018 Seeking the Ph.D. in Molecular Biology and Physiology Loyola University, Chicago Chicago, Illinois

Chapter Officers

2020-2021

President, Lawrence A. Vogel, Professor of Philosophy Vice President and Scholarship Committee Chair, Joseph D. Alchermes, Associate Professor of Art History and Director of the Architectural Studies Program Historian, Rae Gaubinger, Assistant Professor of English Secretary/Treasurer, MaryAnne Borrelli, Susan Eckert Lynch '62 Professor of Government Membership Committee Chair, Christopher N.B. Hammond, Associate Professor of Mathematics and Associate Dean of the College for Curriculum

Thank you for joining us to celebrate the accomplishments of the new members of the Delta of Connecticut, Connecticut College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. If you have questions about Phi Beta Kappa, please contact the Chapter Secretary, MaryAnne Borrelli, at mabor@conncoll.edu.

The chapter would like to thank the many members of the College community who have contributed to the success of this event. Special thanks are due to members of the President's Office, the Dean of the College Office, the Dean of the Faculty Office, the Office of Communications, the Registrar's Office, and the Events and Catering Office.

Particular thanks are extended to David Baratko, Sarah Cardwell, Merrill Collins, Jeff Gada, Ciara Hamilton, Nancy Lewandowski, Tiffany Thiele, Ben Parent, Amy Martin, Jenny Doak, Erica Smith, and Rosa Woodhams.

Program text printed on 100% recycled paper