New faculty enrich the College’s intellectual community

Connecticut College’s six newest tenure-track professors are specialists in a wide range of fields, including Roman culture, particle physics, black cinema, agricultural economics, graph theory and early cognitive development. 

"Our newest faculty members join a community of teacher-scholars who are deeply engaged with their disciplines and equally excited about the challenges of sharing with students both their expertise and their curiosity," said Dean of the Faculty Abigail Van Slyck, the Dayton Professor of Art History. “Their different experiences and perspectives enrich our intellectual community and help create for our students learning environments that are well-suited to the global society in which we all live.”

Collectively, the new faculty members bring expertise from institutions across the country where they have taught previously, including Amherst, Williams, Colby, Wake Forest, Tulane, Vanderbilt, College of Charleston, Eckerd, Indiana University, University of California-Davis, University of Kentucky, Rutgers and Wayne State University.

The six new tenure-track professors are joined by three postdoctoral fellows, 21 new adjunct professors and two new head coaches.

September 12, 2014